What is Thatcham category3?
What is Thatcham category3?

What are the Thatcham categories?

Thatcham devices

  • Thatcham Category 1 – combined alarm and immobiliser.
  • Thatcham Category 2 – electronic immobiliser.
  • Thatcham Category 2/1 – alarm upgrade.
  • Thatcham Category 3 – mechanical immobiliser.
  • Thatcham Category 4 – wheel locking devices.
  • Thatcham Category S5 – post-theft tracking and recovery systems.

What does Thatcham approved mean?

What is a Thatcham device? A Thatcham device is a security device, such as an engine immobiliser or alarm, that has been certified and rated by Thatcham Research, otherwise known as the Motor Insurance Repair Research Centre.

How do I know if my car has a Thatcham approved immobiliser?

Your vehicle's handbook will be able to tell you for sure. Alternatively, an immobiliser may have been fitted by a previous owner. This won't be outlined in the handbook, but a mechanic will be able to identify it for you next time your car is getting serviced.

Has my car got factory-fitted immobiliser alarm?

Finding out if your car has one fitted can be done quickly and easily by checking your vehicle handbook. If your car was made before 1998, it is likely that you will not have an immobiliser fitted. You can however purchase one and get it fitted.

Does my car have a factory fitted alarm and immobiliser?

You can rest assured that your car has a factory-fitted immobiliser if it was manufactured after October 1998. However, if your car was made before that date and you want to check if it has an immobiliser, the easiest way to check is to contact your car's manufacturer or consult your owner's manual.

Do all new cars come with an immobiliser?

Do all cars have immobilisers? Car immobilisers have been compulsory on all cars made since 1998. If an immobiliser was fitted after this date and at the time of manufacture, it makes it a 'factory-fitted immobiliser'. If you have purchased a brand new car since 1998, chances are you will have an immobiliser fitted.