What NC counties require no emissions?
What NC counties require no emissions?

Do all counties in NC require emissions testing?

Emissions Testing North Carolina requires emission systems tests for cars and light-duty trucks as part of the annual safety inspection in 22 counties. Vehicles from 1996 and newer are usually equipped with On-Board Diagnostic (OBD) systems, which help inspectors check that the vehicle's pollution controls are working.

How many counties in NC require emissions testing?

22 counties
Emissions inspections are required in 22 counties: Alamance, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Cumberland, Davidson, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, New Hanover, Onslow, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Union, or Wake.

Do you have to pass emissions in North Carolina?

Motor vehicles registered in 22 North Carolina counties must also pass an emissions inspection, which is conducted at the same time as the safety inspection. Failure to get a vehicle inspected by the due date will result in a vehicle's registration being blocked until the vehicle is inspected.

How old does a car have to be to not need emissions in NC?

20 years old
If your car is at least 20 years old, you'll no longer need to get it tested for emissions in North Carolina starting Dec. 1.

How old does a car have to be to not be inspected in North Carolina?

Exemptions. Vehicles more than 30 years old are exempt from the annual safety inspection.

Does a 20 year old car need to be inspected in NC?

As of December 1, 2019, vehicles with a model year with in 20 years of the current calendar year will require a safety and emissions inspection.

What vehicles are exempt from inspection in NC?

Vehicles are exempt from emissions inspections under the following conditions:

  • Some light-duty vehicles less than 3 years old or have fewer than 70,000 miles.
  • ​Vehicle is 20 years old or older​​
  • Diesel-operated.
  • Registered as a farm vehicle.

Sep 10, 2563 BE